World Group action is back in


Award of Excellence

The Award of Excellence, inaugurated by the ITF and International Tennis Hall of Fame in 2001, is presented to past and present members of a Fed Cup team who best represent the ideals and spirit of the competition.

Honour roll

- 2013: Corrado Barazzutti (ITA)
- 2012: Jana Novotna (CZE)
- 2011: Anastasia Myskina (RUS)
- 2010: Billie Jean King (USA)
- 2009: Silvia Farina (ITA) and Mary Joe Fernandez (USA)
- 2008: Miguel Margets (ESP)
- 2007: Lea Pericoli (ITA)
- 2006: Sabine Appelmans (BEL)
- 2005: Francoise Durr (FRA)
- 2004: Olga Morozova (RUS)
- 2003: Larisa Savchenko-Neiland (LAT)
- 2002: Virginia Wade (GBR)
- 2001: Conchita Martinez and Arantxa Sanchez Vicario (ESP)

Barazzutti honoured in 2013

Corrado Barazzutti (ITA) with the Fed Cup Award of Excellence

Italian Fed Cup captain Corrado Barazzutti was presented with the Fed Cup Award of Excellence at the 2013 Final between Italy and Russia.

As the Italian Fed Cup Captain since 2002, Barazzutti has led the team through 29 ties, compiling an impressive record of 21-8. Under his leadership, Barrazzutti brought the Italians to the finals for the first time in history in 2006, when they won their first Fed Cup championship title. He has guided the Italian team to championship title three times, (2010, 2009, 2006), and they were finalists in 2007.

In 2013, the team defeated USA in the first round and the defending champions, the Czech Republic, in the semifinals to earn a spot in the Fed Cup by BNP Paribas World Group Final.

Barazzutti currently serves as Italian Davis Cup captain as well, and during his playing days, he was a stalwart of the Italian Davis Cup team. He competed in 32 ties between 1972 and 1984, and compiled an overall record of 41-21.

He was an integral member of the championship team in 1976, when Italy defeated Chile, and was a member of three Italian teams that advanced to the final - 1980, 1979, and 1977.

On the ATP World Tour, Barazzutti achieved a career high ranking of world No. 7 and won 5 titles. He was a semifinalist in both the US Open (1977) and the French Open (1978).

© ITF Licensing (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be duplicated, redistributed, or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.

Powered by Umbraco

Design by New Brand Vision